Merit Scholarships

Prairie School offers merit scholarships to prospective students in grades 6-12. Candidates are selected, by invitation only, based upon the strength of their academic record, test scores and demonstrated financial need.  If given the opportunity to compete for a scholarship, the student will be required to submit letters of recommendation, a portfolio of recent accomplishments, and will be scheduled for on-campus interviews with key faculty or administration.


Funded by the School’s endowment and gifts from individual friends, this program awards multi-year scholarships in varying amounts to new and continuing Prairie students for the years they remain at the School.

The Hilpert Memorial Scholarship Program is an annual, competitive, merit-based, tuition scholarship program for motivated young people who exhibit academic and creative excellence, strong leadership skills, a concern for the well-being of others and demonstrate financial need.


Established in May of 1997 through the generosity of the School’s founders, the Imogene Powers Johnson Leadership Fellows Program attracts the brightest, most-talented Upper School students.  Ideally, these Fellows will emerge as strong, competent, cooperative, and magnetic leaders, who are models for the School’s ideals, setting a standard for others to emulate.

This program provides four $7,000 fellowships to students entering 9th grade who demonstrate financial need.  Fellowships are renewable annually based on each fellow’s performance and typically follow a student through graduation.


In 2011, The Prairie School was selected by the Malone Family Foundation to receive a $2,000,000 endowment gift to establish the Malone Scholars Program.  This initiative aims to provide An outstanding education to every top-level student who displays the keen desire and motivation to learn, yet lacks the resources to finance such an education.  Financial support for each Malone Scholar ranges from 30% of tuition to a full scholarship and is renewable through graduation.  Recipients must rank in the top 10% of their class and be new to Prairie in grades 7-10.  Notably, Prairie is the only institution in Wisconsin to be named a Malone School and one of only 50 such schools nationwide.

For additional information on Prairie’s Merit Scholarship programs, please contact Molly Lofquist Johnson, Director of Admissions, at 262.752.2525 / [email protected].