Prairie School Students Excel in State-wide Math Competition

Prairie School Students Excel in State-wide Math Competition

The Prairie School mathematics team had the highest score of all southeast Wisconsin schools in Region 7 of the Wisconsin Mathematics League competition, which was conducted from November through April in the recently concluded 2013-14 school year.  Sixty-one schools across nine geographic regions throughout Wisconsin took part in the competition this year, and Prairie School math students earned    the highest marks among participating schools from Racine, Rock, Walworth, and Green counties.

This is the 2nd consecutive year that The Prairie School has earned top marks in its geographic region.

On a State-wide basis, Prairie came in 12th overall – placing in the top 20% — and scored above schools up to six times its size.

To participate in the Wisconsin Mathematics League competition, students must complete six monthly tests from November through April, each of which rigorously evaluates students’ problem-solving abilities.  Each monthly test entails six questions – on subjects ranging from pre-algebra to pre-calculus – and students must complete each test within 30 minutes.

In response to The Prairie School’s performance in this year’s competition, Mr. Everett McKinney, Upper School Division Head stated,

“I’m ecstatic about how well our students performed in this year’s Wisconsin Mathematics League competition.  Their hard-earned victory is a testament to the outstanding instruction that our Prairie School mathematics faculty provides.  I couldn’t be prouder of our exceptional students and teachers for enabling The Prairie School to achieve this prestigious distinction and award.”

The Prairie School, founded in 1965, is a preschool through K12 college preparatory day school.  Its current enrollment is approximately 680 students.

Congratulations to the following students who participated:

Jason Bates Roman Palvanov
Alex Belich Ellie Plachinski
Josh Bote Sapan Shah
Connor Cain Samantha Smiley
Mateo Garcia-Novelli Celine Stichert
Hayden Henderson Annabel Ware
Zachary Kant Kedi Xiang
Esther Pae